الأنظمة الاقتصاديّة الواقعيّة لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة - هل تؤثر عليك؟ - SPC Free Zone

الأنظمة الاقتصاديّة الواقعيّة لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة – هل تؤثر عليك؟

By AccessTimeIcon

اعتبارًا من 01/01/2020 فصاعدًا، يتعيّن على المنشآت التي تدخل ضمن نطاق تطبيق الأنظمة تقديم تقارير بأنشطتها الاقتصادية الواقعية إلى سلطتها التنظيمية المعنية، كما قد تضطر إلى الخضوع لاختبار النشاط الاقتصادي الواقعي​ واستيفائه.

تنطبق الأنظمة على الشركات المحلية وشركات المناطق الحرّة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، بالإضافة إلى فروعها وشراكاتها، وكذلك أشكال الأعمال الأخرى الإماراتية، التي تعمل في أيٍ من الأنشطة التالية:

  • الأعمال المصرفية
  • أعمال التأمين
  • أعمال إدارة الصناديق الاستثماريّة
  • أعمال التأجير التمويلي
  • أعمال المقارّ الرئيسية
  • أعمال الشحن
  • أعمال الشركة القابضة
  • أعمال الملكية الفكرية
  • أعمال مراكز التوزيع أو الخدمات​

 يهدف نهج “المادة تسود على الشكل” إلى تحديد ما إذا كان المرخص له يزاول نشاطًا ذي صلة، ويخضع بالتالي لنطاق الأنظمة، مما يعني النظر إلى أبعد مما هو مذكور في الرخصة التجارية من حيث الأنشطة التي يزاولها المرخص له.

تجدر ملاحظة أنّ شركات المناطق الحرّة ليست معفاة من الأنظمة. ومع ذلك، تُعفى المنشآت المرخّص لها، التي تمتلك فيها الحكومة الاتحادية أو حكومة إحدى إمارات الدولة، أو هيئة أو سلطة حكومية في الدولة، نسبة لا تقل عن 51% بصورة مباشرة أو غير مباشرة.

تنطبق الأنظمة على السنوات المالية التي تبدأ في أو اعتبارًا من 1 يناير 2019.

يُسمح بتقديم التقارير خلال 12 شهرًا، اعتبارًا من نهاية السنة المالية ذات الصلة. وبالنسبة إلى المنشآت المرخص لها بسنة مالية تنتهي في 31/12/2019، يجب تقديم الإقرار بحلول 31/12/2020.

تُطبّق الأنظمة حتى وإن كانت المنشأة المرخص لها جزءًا من مجموعة أجنبية متعددة الجنسيات. وكذلك، في حال كانت المنشأة المرخص لها تحقق دخلاً من أحد الأنشطة ذات الصلّة خارج دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، لن يتم إعفاؤها من الأنظمة أيضًا. ويشمل الدخل الذي تحققه المنشأة المرخص لها من النشاط ذي الصلة، والذي يتعيّن عليها التحقق على أساسه من النشاط الاقتصادي الواقعي داخل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، جميع أشكال الدخل، بما في ذلك الدخل الذي تحققه المنشأة المرخص لها خارجها.

تتباين المنشآت من حيث حجمها وطبيعتها، ويعتمد ما يناسبها على طبيعة ومستوى أنشطتها، وكذلك مستوى الدخل الذي تحققه المنشأة المرخص لها.

لا تحدد الأنظمة والتوجيهات القائمة حتى الآن معيارًا “للحد الأدنى” لما يعدّ مقبولاً. ومن المرجح أن تتبنى السلطات التنظيمية نهجًا واقعيًا عند تقييم استيفاء المنشأة المرخص لها اختبار النشاط الاقتصاديّ الواقعي من عدمه​، مع مراعاة اختلاف نوع ومستوى نشاط المنشأة المرخص لها خلال فترة مالية معينّة ومن سنة إلى أخرى.

ومع ذلك، توجد فئات جديدة للإعفاء تتضمن ما يلي:

  • صناديق الاستثمار
  • المنشآت المملوكة بالكامل لمقيمين في دولة الإمارات، والتي لا تشكل جزءًا من مجموعة متعددة الجنسيات، وتُجري حصرًا معاملات محلية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة
  • المنشآت التي تقع مقراتها الضريبية خارج دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة
  • الفروع الإماراتية لمنشآت أجنبية إذا كان الدخل ذات الصلة للفرع يخضع للضريبة في الدولة الأجنبية

لم تعد معظم المنشآت المملوكة للحكومة مُعفاة، ما لم تكن مدرجة ضمن إحدى فئات الإعفاء المحدّثة للأنظمة الاقتصادية الواقعية الجديدة.

إذا كنت تمثل إحدى المنشآت المرخص لها، وترغب في التقدّم بطلب للإعفاء، فيتعيّن عليك تقديم ما يثبت أن منشأتك جديرة بالحصول على هذا الإعفاء.

تتضمن الأسطر التالية بعض النقاط التي يجب أن تكون على دراية بها قبل التقدم بطلبك.

الشركات الإماراتية غير مُلزمة بتقديم تقارير منفصلة

تحدد الأنظمة الاقتصادية الواقعية الجديدة الفروع الإماراتية التابعة لشركة إماراتية، بأنها تعد امتدادًا لشركتها الأم أو لمركزها الرئيسي، ولا تتمتع بشخصية قانونية منفصلة. ولذلك، إذا كنت فرعًا لشركة أمّ إماراتية ومسجلاً في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، فلن يتعين عليك بعد الآن تقديم تقارير مستقلّة، بل يلزم فقط تقديم تقرير واحد بشأن الأنشطة ذات الصلة لشركتك الأمّ الإماراتية بجميع فروعك المسجلة في الدولة.

متطلبات الإبلاغ المعدّلة للشركات الإماراتية التي لها فروع خارج دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

إذا كنت شركة إماراتية تمارس نشاطًا ذا صلة من خلال أحد الفروع المسجلة خارج دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة فقط، فلن تحتاج شركتك الإماراتية إلى الإبلاغ عن النشاط الاقتصادي الواقعي وإثباته في الحالات التي تُفرض فيها ضريبة على الدخل الذي يتم تحقيقه من خلال الفرع الموجود خارج الدولة المدرج فيها.

متطلبات الإبلاغ الخالية من المتاعب للشركات الأجنبية التي لها فروع في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

إذا كنت شركة أجنبية لها مكتب فرعي مسجل في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، فلا يتوجب عليك إثبات النشاط الاقتصادي الواقعي بموجب الأنظمة الاقتصادية الواقعية الجديدة، شريطة أن يكون الدخل الذي تحققه من أنشطة الفرع التابع لك، والذي يقع نظريًا ضمن إحدى فئات الأنشطة ذات الصلة، خاضع للضريبة في الدولة الأجنبية التي يقع فيها الفرع.

زيادة الغرامات

تمت زيادة الغرامات بموجب الأنظمة الاقتصادية الواقعية الجديدة، بما فيها الغرامات الإدارية بسبب مخالفة تلك الأنظمة، والتي تتراوح الآن بين 20,000 درهم و50,000 درهم. ويؤدي عدم استيفاء اختبار النشاط الاقتصادي الواقعي لعملك إلى تعرضك لغرامة قدرها 50,000 درهم. كما قد تتعرض أيضًا لتعليق رخصتك أو عدم تجديدها.

ماذا بعد ذلك؟

تجدر ملاحظة أنه يتعيّن على جميع المنشآت المرخص لها (بما فيها المنشآت المرخص لها المعفيّة) تقديم تقاريرها من خلال البوابة الإلكترونية الجديدة فور إطلاقها، حتى وإن كان قد سبق لها تقديم تقاريرها عن السنة المالية 2019 بموجب النظام السابق.

خطواتك التالية

إذا كنت تمتلك شركة إماراتية، أو منشأة مسجّلة في إحدى المناطق الحرّة، أو منشأة خارجية، فإننا نوصيك في أقرب وقت ممكن بإعادة تقييم تلك المنشأة لمعرفة ما إذا كانت مؤهّلة كمنشأة مرخص لها، أو كمنشأة مرخص لها معفية. كما نوصيك على وجه السرعة بإعادة النظر فيما إذا كنت تزاول نشاطًا ملائمًا وفقًا للأنظمة الاقتصادية الواقعية الجديدة والتوجيهات الجديدة الصادرة أم لا؛ حيث سيساعدك ذلك على تجهيز نماذج الامتثال المناسبة التي يجب تقديمها فور إطلاق البوابة الإلكترونية الجديدة.

نظرًا لقُرب انتهاء المهلة المحددة بـ 12 شهرًا، والتي تلي السنة المالية 2019 للمنشآت المرخص لها، بالنسبة إلى العديد من المنشآت، نوصي أيضًا بتجاوز المرحلة الأولى من تقديم التقارير. وفي حالة كانت منشأتك الإماراتية مؤهلة كمنشأة مرخص لها، وتزاول نشاطًا ذا صلة، وتحقق منه دخلاً خلال المهلة المحددة للإبلاغ وتقديم التقارير، سيكون من الأفضل من الناحية العملية البدء في إعداد الوثائق والمعلومات اللازمة لإثبات كيفية استيفاء اختبار النشاط الاقتصادي الواقعي.

في حالة اكتشاف أي ثغرات، سيتعيّن عليك التخطيط لاستراتيجية تصحيح وتنفيذها لحماية الامتثال، وتجنب التعرّض لأي تبعات وخيمة قد تقع مستقبلاً.

Disclaimer

The information contained in this website is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice on any subject matter.

You should not act or refrain from acting on the basis of any content in this website without seeking independent legal or other appropriate advice. The content of this website contains general information and may not reflect current legal developments or address your situation. SPC Free Zone disclaims any and all liability for actions which you take or fail to take based on any of the content contained in this website.

The operation of this website does not create a professional relationship between you and SPC Free Zone.

Back

انطلق في عالم ريادة الأعمال

SPC

The UAE Economic Substance Rules (ESR) in the UAE – Does it impact you?

From 01/01/2020 onwards, entities within the scope of the rules are required to give in their economic substance declarations to their pertinent regulatory authority, and may be needed to meet an Economic Substance Test.

The Regulations apply to UAE onshore and Free Zone companies, branches, partnerships, and other UAE business forms that run any of the following businesses

  • Banking
  • Insurance
  • Investment fund management
  • Lease-finance
  • Headquarter
  • Shipping
  • Holding company
  • Intellectual property
  • Distribution and service center

A “substance over form” approach is to regulate whether a Licensee commences a pertinent activity and is in the scope of the laws. This means looking outside what is stated on its commercial license to the activities that are undertaken by the Licensee.

It is important to note that Free Zone companies are not exempted from the Regulations. However, licensees that are directly or indirectly at least 51% possessed by the Federal or an Emirate’s Government, or a UAE Government body or authority, are exempted.

The Regulations apply to financial years beginning on or from January 1, 2019.

Declarations must be given within 12 months from the relevant financial year’s ending. For Licensees with a financial year ending on 31/12/2019, a declaration must be made by 31/12/2020.

The Regulations apply regardless of whether the licensee is from a foreign multinational group. If one earns an income from a relevant activity outside of the UAE, they aren’t exempt from the regulations either. Income from a relevant activity for which the Licensee needs to validate economic substance in the UAE comprises all income, with income that is generated by the Licensee outside of the UAE.

Businesses vary in size and nature, and what is adequate and appropriate will depend on the nature and level of activities, and the level of income earned by the Licensee.

The Regulations and guidance provided to date do not provide a “minimum” standard for what is considered acceptable. The regulatory authorities are likely to take a realistic approach when assessing whether a Licensee has met the Economic Substance Test, recognizing that the type and level of activity of a Licensee, as it may differ during the tenure of a financial period and from year to year.

However, there are new exemption categories as mentioned below

  • Investment funds
  • Entities that are wholly owned by UAE residents and which are not part of a multinational enterprise group and which only carry out their activities in the UAE
  • Entities that are a tax resident outside of the UAE
  • Branches of foreign parent companies where the relevant income is subject to tax outside the UAE.

Most government-owned entities are no longer excused, unless they come within one of the updated exemptions of the New ESR.

If you are a Licensee and wish to apply for the exemption you are required to provide evidence that your entity is suitable for that exemption.

Below are a few things you need to be mindful of before filing.

Separate notifications need not be filed by UAE companies

The New ESR identifies UAE branches of a UAE company that don’t have separate legal personalities from their parent or head office. Therefore, if you are a branch of a UAE parent entity and are registered in the UAE, you no longer need to file distinct notifications. All that’s required is a single notification concerning the Relevant Activities of your UAE parent company together with all your UAE branches.

Modified reporting requirements for UAE companies with non-UAE branches

If you are a UAE company that conducts a relevant activity only through a branch registered outside the UAE, your UAE company doesn’t need to report and validate economic substance in situations where the income made through the branch is taxed in the overseas jurisdiction where the branch is listed.

Hassle-free reporting requirements for foreign companies with UAE branches

If you are a foreign company with a branch office registered in the UAE, then you are not required to demonstrate economic substance under the New ESR, provided that the income earned by your branch’s activities, that would theoretically fall into a relevant activity category, is subject to tax in your overseas jurisdiction.

Increase of Penalties

The penalties under the New ESR have been amplified, including the administrative penalties for non-compliance, which are now between AED 20,000 and AED 50,000. Failure to meet the economic substance test of your business results in a penalty of AED 50,000. Suspension or non-renewal of your license are other penalties you may face.

What happens next?

It’s important to note that all Licensees (including exempted Licensees) are needed to file notifications on the new online portal once it’s available, regardless of whether they have already submitted notifications for the 2019 financial year under the old legislation.

Your next steps

If you have a UAE business – including entities registered in Free Zones and offshore entities – we recommend you re-assess whether you qualify as a Licensee or an exempted Licensee as soon as possible. Together with this, urgently reconsider if you’re carrying out an appropriate activity under the New ESR and new guidance. Doing so will allow you to make the appropriate compliance filings when the new filing portal becomes available.

Given that the end of the 12-month period following a Licensee’s 2019 financial year is forthcoming for many entities, we also recommend that you look beyond the first stage notification filing. If your UAE entity qualifies as a Licensee, has conducted a relevant activity, and derived income from the same in the reporting period, it would be practical to start preparation of the documents and information required to demonstrate how the economic substance test is met.

If any gaps are identified, it’s crucial for you to plan and implement a mitigation strategy to safeguard compliance and avoid severe consequences in the future.

Start Small. Dream Big. Grow Faster.

SPC Free Zone offers a wide range of business support services as a one-stop shop solution for your business needs.